Datum: 12 oktober 2021

Start: 20:30 hrs
Location: Het Cenakel, Tilburg

Discount pass: Abonnement 2021-2022, We Are Public, (reservation required)

Extra info: Corona protocol

Prijs: €23,00 | student €10,00


In this concert ensemble Asko|Schönberg proceeds along variegated pieces. György Ligeti’s Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet is charged with electrifying energy. It is full of sudden changes in direction, reminiscent of animated cartoons. In his tranquil Violin Diptych 0 Samuel Adams has a violin reach ever higher until a sinus wave enters, after which a piano adds colour to the melodies of the violin. Besides Robert Zuidam’s Déploration, an homage to Oliver Knussen that is built around the number seven, two solo pieces will be performed.

Extended techniques characterise Appel interstellaire, the horn solo from Des canyons aux étoiles with which Olivier Messiaen sends a signal into the universe, interspersing this with moments of silence, as if he wants to give the cosmos a chance to respond. These compositions offer a sampling of the virtuosity of Asko|Schönberg’s members, but at the same time they present a varied and beautiful musical experience.